hard work,
     faith and
      learning and

News & Events

Year 8’s District Cup Final

12th June 2018



Back row:

Matthew Strophair, Cameron Inglis, Dylan Archer, Dillon Cummins, Oliver Bainbridge (c), Taylor Obee, Joseph Adams, Lewis Rutherford, (Chris Basham – Sheffield Utd) Harry Hymers

Front row:

Louis Powell, Daniel Joyce, Luke Duffy, Cameron Smith, Luke Stanley, Declan Johnston, Joshua Matthew


Year 8 football team – South Tyneside District Cup Final

St Joseph’s year 8 football team pressed well from the start and immediately put Harton under pressure. In the 9th minute, Luke Stanley played the ball down the right wing for Lewis Rutherford who beat his marker and laid the ball into Dillon Cummings’ path outside the 18 yard box. Cummings took a touch, laying the ball out to his left side before rifling the ball in top left of the goal to open the scoring, 1-0 to St Josephs.

One minute later, St Joseph’s won a free kick just left of the centre circle in Harton’s half of the pitch. Josh Matthew took a short free kick to Luke Duffy, who smashed a 35 yard rising thunderbolt high into the net beyond a floundering keeper. Supporters from both teams applauded in acknowledgement of this wonder-strike, 2-0 to St Josephs.

In the 23rd minute, Dylan Archer won possession of the ball 30 yards from Harton’s goal. He weaved his way into a packed box, creating a chance from nothing, successfully adding to the score by slotting the ball into the goal from close range, low and left of the keeper, the final score was 3-0 to St Josephs.

We came out strong in the second half and dominated once again by scoring straight from kickoff, instigated by a direct run down the left-hand wing by Lewis Rutherford, who, after reaching the by-line, unselfishly squared the ball into the 6 yard box giving Dylan Archer a sweaty to finish; hard and low into the bottom right hand corner. 4-0, St Josephs.

Time after time our composed defense played out patiently from the back into midfield, where our angular passing and probing through-balls into the final third created chances for us to score. In the 36th minute, Luke Duffy, determined as ever, powered his way through two defenders, and fired off a shot that was deflected by a third defender into the bottom right corner; Duffy’s second goal of the game. 5-0 St Josephs.

In the 39th minute Dylan Archer completed his well-deserved hat-trick by drilling home a pin-point cross from Dillon Cummings. 6-0 St Josephs.

45 minutes into the game, Lewis Rutherford was brought down in the box and the referee awarded a penalty. Lewis slotted the ball coolly into the bottom right-hand corner, only to be told to re-take as a team-mate had wandered into the box before he struck it. Lewis showed real character by remaining calm and slotting it away for a second time in the same bottom right corner. 7-0 St Josephs.

A wonderfully delivered in-swinging corner was met with purpose and ambition by Olly Bainbridge, who had wandered up from his centre-back position to score with a headed finish to make it 8-0 St Josephs.

Our opponents never let up, and although they continued to press, their efforts couldn’t penetrate much into our half before being hunted down and snuffed out by our midfielders and defenders, who worked tirelessly for each other throughout. Cameron Smith, our goalkeeper, had a solid game; making great decisions when to come off his line, linking up well with St Joseph’s defenders whenever Harton came close to our goal.

In the 54th minute, our efforts were once again rewarded when Louis Powell slotted home our 9th goal to take the game well beyond Harton and seal the victory, 9-0 to St Josephs.

The very competent referee, Daniel Van Hymers blew the final whistle, and both teams lined up and shook hands in acknowledgment of a sporting contest played in great spirit. The South Tyneside District trophy was presented to the deserved winners St Josephs by Chris Basham, professional footballer with Sheffield United, as organised by the Chairman of Hebburn Town, Vin Pearson. Well done to the year 8 football team.

A very special thank you goes to Terry Smith, Co-Director of Hebburn Town, for arranging and allowing the use of the tremendous Hebburn Town pitch and facilities.

Write up by year 8 football team coach, Mr Matthew Obee.